User Synchronization

In the Intrexx Share modules

  • Groups

  • Events

  • Photos

  • Projects

  • Surveys

  • Questions

  • File Storage

Members (e.g., of a project) or participants (e.g., of an event) are automatically synchronized with the corresponding Intrexx Share group or Intrexx user object (user group, role, organizational unit, distribution list, etc.). As an example, synchronization is explained below for the "Event" module—the procedure applies to all of the modules mentioned above.

If you have created an Intrexx Share group that contains members, that Intrexx Share group can be selected, for example, during an event. This means that all members of the group are then automatically, for example, participants in the corresponding event. If another member is added to the Intrexx Share group, the event's participant list is automatically synchronized with the Intrexx Share group. The new member of the group will then also be a participant in the event.

The same applies to Intrexx user objects: Instead of an Intrexx Share group, you can also select an Intrexx user group, role, distribution list, etc., whose members are then used as participants in an event. If a user is added to the Intrexx user group, this change is also synchronized here. The user is automatically registered for the event.

Where is the timer process located?

All timers required for synchronization are located in the "Share Synchronization" process.

How do I enable synchronization with Intrexx user objects or Intrexx Share groups?

Synchronization is automatically enabled when an Intrexx Share group or an Intrexx user object is selected in a multiple-selection field (distribution list selection) in Intrexx Share—as shown here, for example, to select participants for an event.

Every 4 hours and when saving (e.g., an event), a synchronization process runs that synchronizes changes to the members of Intrexx Share groups or Intrexx user objects.

To synchronize at a different time, you can run the "Sync - Groups" timer. To do this, select the timer and choose "Start Global Timer Job" from the main menu. The job can also be started from the context menu.

Alternatively, in the Intrexx "Tools" module, search for "Sync - " in the task scheduler and then start the corresponding task. Please note that all data records are included in the sync jobs. It also synchronizes with Intrexx user management. This means that if a group from the Intrexx user management system is specified for an Intrexx Share group, the processes will synchronize in this case as well.

In the "Projects" module, the synchronization process ispart of the "Share - Projects" process.

In which user context is the synchronization performed?

Synchronization is performed in the context of the creator of the object to be synchronized. However, in some cases, the sync process may be carried out after the object's creator has been deleted or deactivated. If this occurs, synchronization is performed in the administrator context. Notifications will also be sent on behalf of the administrator.