Portlet and Grid Settings
On portal pages, you'll find a button with an arrow icon on the right side of the screen in your browser. Clicking this button opens the portlet and grid settings.
Portlet Settings - Administration - Apps
1. Mode
You'll find the settings at the top of the page
-
Personal
-
Default
-
Anonymous
In personal mode, any user with the appropriate permissions can create and delete portlets. The order of the portlets can also be changed using drag-and-drop, provided that this is allowed in the default mode in the container settings.
In default mode, members of the Administrators user group can manage the portal pages for all users, including those who are not logged in (anonymous).
2. Portlet Pool
You can search for existing portlets here. Search results are displayed below the search field and can be dragged and dropped from there into a container.
3. Portlets from Applications
Here you will find all the portlets that you have defined yourself in applications, as well as predefined portlets from the system applications. Find out here how to create portlets from applications.
4. Basic Portlets
Under "Create New Portlet," you can access all the basic portlets (portlet templates) from which you can create a new instance. From here, drag the desired base portlet into a container (6) to create a new instance.
For each of the basic portlet types, there is already an instance in the "Add Portlet" section that you can also drag and drop into a container and configure accordingly.
For example, if you want to create two tickers for news from different news portals, configure the ticker in the "Add Portlet" section and then create a second instance of the ticker from the "Create New Portlet" section by dragging and dropping the portlet into a container.
You can find descriptions of the individual basic portlets and their settings here.
Permanently Delete Portlet
This button appears in the "Add Portlet" section if you have the appropriate permissions. Clicking it deletes the portlet.
5. User Rights
These settings are only available in default mode and apply to all users.
-
Edit Portlet
In personal mode, displays the "Add a Portlet" section for the basic portlets. In addition, you can edit the properties of a portlet placed in a container by clicking the "Edit" button at
. -
Create a Portlet
Shows the "Create New Portlet" section for the basic portlets.
-
Delete Portlet
s the Delete button in the Basic Portlets section, which can be used to delete portlet instances. In addition, the button is also displayed for portlets that are already placed in a container. If a portlet is deleted there, it is moved back to its original location (base portlets or portlets from applications) and can be moved back into a container from there.
6. Reset
Clicking this button resets all users' portal pages to the current state in default mode. Any individual changes made by users in personal or anonymous mode will be discarded.
7. Container
This section is where you arrange and configure the desired portlets. As soon as a portlet is moved into a container and the new setting is saved by clicking "Save" (8), it becomes available in the browser to users with the appropriate permissions. A container can contain any number of portlets. The number and arrangement of the individual containers can be changed in the grid settings. Each portlet displays its title and the following buttons:
Enable / Disable Mandatory Portlet
Users cannot remove a required portlet from the portal page.
Enable / Disable Drag & Drop
If drag-and-drop is disabled, users can no longer move the portlet.
Edit Properties
Opens a page where you can edit the portlet's properties.
Remove Portlet from Grid
The portlet is removed from the container. Depending on whether it is a basic portlet or an application portlet, you will find it in the corresponding section and can move it back into a container from there if necessary.
Shows the portlet's description.
8. Save / Cancel
Clicking "Save" will save all changes to the portlet settings. "Cancel" closes the entire settings page.
Grid Settings - Grid
Here, you can edit the number, distribution, and arrangement of the containers. You can find all the information about the settings here.
Edit Mode - Arranging Portlets in the Browser
If a user drags and drops a portlet to a different location in the browser, edit mode is activated.
The grid is displayed using dashed lines. Once all portlets are in the desired position, save the new settings by clicking "Save." This exits edit mode.




